While filming the 2014 sci-fi action film, Cruise told Blunt to “stop being such a pussy” when it came to donning an 85-pound costume, causing a panicked Blunt to laugh and calm down. “We had to wear these enormous suits, which I think would’ve been great if we had CGI’d them, but we wanted to do it in a tactile way,” Blunt recalled during the “SmartLess” podcast, hosted by Jason Bateman, Sean Hayes, and Will Arnett. Blunt continued, “When you hear the word ‘tactile,’ you think that sounds nice and cozy. There was nothing cozy about these suits. It was like 85 pounds. It was so heavy. The first time I put it on I started to cry, and [Cruise] didn’t know what to do.” The “Devil Wears Prada” alum added that Cruise “stared at her” when she began crying out of frustration.

“I was like, ‘Tom, I’m not sure how I’m going to get through this shoot,’ and just started to cry,” Blunt shared. “I said, ‘I’m feeling a bit panicky about the whole shoot.’ He just stared at me for a long time, not knowing what to do, and he goes, ‘Come on, stop being such a pussy, OK?’” Related Paramount+ Declares ‘Top Gun: Maverick’ Its Most-Watched Movie in Streaming Premiere ‘Poor Tom’: Kate Winslet Feels Bad for Tom Cruise After Breaking His Underwater Record Related Oscars 2023: Can Anyone Top ‘Maverick’ in Best Sound? 2023 Oscars: ‘Avatar’ Is the One to Beat in Visual Effects
Blunt was caught off guard by Cruise’s comment and started laughing, easing her way into production. However, the massive suit ended up permanently injuring her ribs and collarbone. The “Edge of Tomorrow” was a massive box office hit, spurring the announcement of a sequel in 2016. Yet Blunt shot down hope for a follow-up during an appearance on Howard Stern’s SiriusXM show in 2021. “We wanted to. Honestly, I think the movie’s too expensive. Yeah, I don’t know how we’re going to do it,” Blunt said in an update (via CinemaBlend). “I think that it’s hard to align everyone’s schedules. I would love it. [Director] Doug Liman would love it. Tom would love it. We’d all love to do it, but I think until we figure out what’s going on with the industry – honestly, I think we need to figure out what is the next road map for the kinds of films that people want to make.” Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.